Technical Committee

Upcoming Technical Committee Meeting
June 25, 2024
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Bay, FL


NMSA’s Technical Committee (TC), is a focused group composed of safety professionals tasked with monitoring, analyzing, and disseminating any information that affects occupational safety & health in maritime transportation. Committee members continuously gather information from numerous sources including the Federal Register, Department of Labor/OSHA, Maritime Advisory Committee for Occupational Safety & Health (MACOSH), Department of Transportation/PHMSA, EPA, International Maritime Organization (IMO), partnering subject matter experts, and fellow NMSA members with unique expertise.

Erick Hawley-Saia – Chairman Director of Safety & Loss Control
Greenwich Terminals, LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Representing Ports of the Delaware River Marine Trade Association
Jeff Brown – Vice Chairman Senior Manager, HSSE/FSO
Fenix Marine Services
San Pedro, CA
Representing Pacific Maritime Association
Stephanie Bishop – Recording Secretary Vice President, Safety and Security
SSA Marine
Seattle, WA
Representing Pacific Maritime Association
Dr. Sharifa Batts, DBA, MBA Vice President, ESG & Safety
Ports America
San Pedro, CA
Representing Pacific Maritime Association
John Bloess Senior Loss Control Manager
The American Equity Underwriters, Inc
Mobile, AL
Representing The American Equity Underwriters, Inc.
Marrisa Brauer* Rick Manager
Origami Risk Management
Representing Origami Risk Management
Shayne Daum* Director Safety & Operations
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Representing British Columbia Maritime Employers Assoc.
Solomon Egbe, Esq. Vice President ESG & Safety
Ports America Chesapeake
Representing Steamship Trade Association of Baltimore
Joseph Farley Vice President – Safety & Security
Maher Terminals LLC
Elizabeth, NJ
Representing The Shipping Association of New York and New Jersey
Mike Hall Assoc. Coast Director Accident Prevention and Training Strategy
Pacific Maritime Association
San Francisco, CA
Representing Pacific Maritime Association
Kevin Hayes General Manager
Charles Stevedoring Company, LLC
Representing South Carolina Stevedores Association
Nick Johnson Safety & Training Manager
Miami, FL
Representing Southeast Florida Employer’s Association
Richard Lubert* Senior Vice President, Safety and Member Performance
Signal Administration
Wilton, CT
Representing Signal Administration
Tim Sheppard Corporate Director of Loss Control
The Cooper Group of Companies,
Mobile, AL
Representing Mobile Shipping Association
Ronald L. Signorino President
The Blueoceana Company, Inc.,
Basking Ridge, NJ
Representing United States Maritime Alliance
Dave Turner Vice President, SSE
Yusan Terminals, LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Representing Pacific Maritime Association
Zach Walden Director of Port Safety
Hampton Roads Shipping Association
Norfolk, VA
Representing Hampton Roads Shipping Association

*Affiliate Members